“Oh My God, You’re Going To MEXICO For Medical Care?”

Shelly Fagan
11 min readSep 27, 2018
Photo by Max Rosero on Unsplash

I am not associated with any of the companies mentioned here and I received no compensation for this article. I provide this information as a public service to those seeking to secure affordable dental care for themselves and their loved ones. Thanks to Novocaine, I never got the shot of tequila that I was told was readily available just around the corner.

I traveled to Mexico for dental work, and this is what happened. Spoiler alert, it went better than expected.

In 2016, some 1.4 million Americans went south of the border for medical care, and the market has been growing at a rate of 15% to 25% a year, according to Patients Beyond Borders. And 2016 was a year when the Affordable Care Act was in full swing, so more people had health coverage. We can anticipate those numbers growing exponentially.

I am at the age where I have to start replacing fillings, and sadly, my kindly family dentist sold his practice to become a missionary. I don’t care for his replacement, a real corporate fellow whose recommendations usually involve extracting a tooth, putting in a post, and taking out a second mortgage on my home to pay for it all.

It is never anything like a simple filling — ever. It is always doom and gloom, dire warnings that I am going to have to have a root canal and crown…

--

--

Shelly Fagan

Complicated subjects made accessible. Politics, Basic Income, Philosophy. I follow back.