Dear Writing Platforms: Promote My Articles First, Then Pay Me

I just want to write.

Shelly Fagan
3 min readOct 8, 2021
Photo by Filip Mishevski on Unsplash

Dear Writing Platforms:

I thought what we writers want would be evident since the decision makers are members of the guild. Apparently, someone needs to spell it out because currently many platforms are jockeying for our content. I guess that falls to me to inform you that all of your membership programs suck.

I just want to write.

Your program should focus on making it easier for me to do this. It’s impossible to craft interesting articles and run a SEO business plus a social media campaign while working a full-time job. If I was interested in doing that shit, I could make a lot more money working in marketing.

What I want is a platform that frees me up from the social media aspect of the business and allows me to spend more time researching and producing great articles about timely subjects.

I don’t care about guaranteed payments.

What I want is guaranteed distribution.

Your platform becomes my partner who helps me build my following and then pays me for my traffic. In return, I give you content. If earning money is based on reader interaction, I expect you to promote my work.

--

--

Shelly Fagan

Complicated subjects made accessible. Politics, Basic Income, Philosophy. I follow back.